Band Bio


a7x new band photo

The self-titled and self-produced follow up to Avenged Sevenfold’s 2005 million-selling City of Evil is due out October 30th on Warner Bros. Records.

The forthcoming album boasts eclectic musical influences. Frontman M. Shadows explains “All those months touring, we really weren’t finding new rock that was moving us. Instead, we were listening to everything from Toby Keith to T.I., finding inspiring elements from other genres to incorporate into our music.” Despite the wide scope of musical inspirations, there is no doubt that the album is trademark Avenged Sevenfold.

In order to write these innovative songs, the band—which also features guitarists Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance, bassist Johnny Christ and drummer The Rev—holed themselves up in M. Shadows’ garage in Huntington Beach, California. As the songs began to take shape the band recognized that in order to fully realize their new vision, they would need to take matters into their own hands. With Warner Bros. Records firmly behind the band’s decision to self-produce, the band set to work.

“We realized that we had so many ideas for how we wanted the songs on the album to sound. We felt it was a risk, but one we had to take. With Avenged Sevenfold, we needed to take the chance of producing it ourselves,” says Shadows.

It’s that maverick spirit in addition to the band’s rabid fan base that has helped Avenged Sevenfold do what few bands before have accomplished – to become the only band to headline Warped Tour and Ozzfest and be No. 1 on MTV’s TRL at the same time. A7X knows that it’s a combination of the power of their music along with the dedication of their fans that has propelled them to where they are today.

Says Shadows, “We have the best fans in the world. They’re covered in A7X tattoos and they’re totally nuts. This album is for them.”

Avenged Sevenfold Track Listing:
1 Critical Acclaim
2 Almost Easy
3 Scream
4 Afterlife
5 Gunslinger
6 Unbound (The Wild Ride)
7 Brompton Cocktail
8 Lost
9 A Little Piece Of Heaven
10 Dear God